Call of Duty countdown confirms a return to WWII

It seems fitting that Call of Duty is returning to its roots, with Battlefield 1's foray into World War 1 past year. As CEO Eric Hirshberg has said during an earnings call in February, "Infinite Warfare had a ton of great gameplay innovations, but it also had a setting that didn't appeal to all of our fans". If you've stuck with the Call of Duty series from the start, you know that this is a big return to form, as the early Call of Duty games were set during World War II.

A "Worldwide Reveal" has been promised and will take place on Wednesday 26 April at 6pm BST (7pm CET, 1pm EDT, 10am PDT).

For more updates regarding Call of Duty: WW2, stay tuned. The game will feature a WW2 era setting, depictions and story and will have a feel of the Battlefield 1 released past year. Recent COD titles such as Black Ops III, Advanced Warfare, and Infinite Warfare were all about sci-fi weapons and gadgets.

In a tweet on Friday, the official CoD Twitter account confirmed this year's installment will go under the moniker Call of Duty: WWII.

More news: Unilever sales ahead of target in first quarter of the year

The upcoming Call of Duty game has no release date or platform announcement as of now.

Activision hasn't responded to the leaks or reports, but just as was the case with last year's Modern Warfare Remastered leaks, this all appears to fall in line with the publisher's own rhetoric. Other than the key art reveal and confirmation of Call of Duty: WW2, though, neither Activision nor Sledgehammer Games have unveiled further details. Well, if you're a fan of the series it's time for you to get excited, as it looks like the title will be revealed this weekend.

The latest Call of Duty games have been on the futuristic side of things, which have been fun, but pretty much so-so.

Edition: